The Assembly

The Assembly is the highest body of the association. It consists of all regular members of the Association and represents all American Alumni Associations that are members of ENAM. Assembly meetings are held once a year. The Assembly controls the board of directors and approves of its work.

All you need to know about becoming a member you can find in our member section. 

The Secretary General

The Secretary General is mainly responsible for representing the organization and organizing all administrative tasks that arise. He or she also supports the Board of Directors in its activities. The Secretary General is also a volunteer position.

Potential candidates for the position of Secretary General must be an alumnus or alumna of an approved U.S. Department of State exchange program and a member of a national alumni organization. Ideally, the potential candidate already has prior knowledge of and leadership experience in one of the following fields: public diplomacy, international cultural and educational exchanges promotion or non-profit management. Furthermore, the potential candidate needs the endorsement of at least three members of the European U.S. Exchange Community who represent other alumni associations.

The Board of Directors

The Board of Directors currently consists of seven members. The Board carries out the organization’s day-to-day operation. The Board of Directors is headed by the chairman. Each member of the Board represents his own American Alumni Association individually and solely. Members are elected based on their expertise and not on their nationality, and they receive no compensation for their service.

Potential candidates for the Board of Directors must be an alumnus or alumna of an approved U.S. Department of State exchange program. He or she must be a member of a national alumni organization and has ideally already gained some leadership experience within that national alumni organization. Their application for a position on the Board of Directors must be submitted by the national alumni organization.

Secretary General

Antonia Arahova, Greece


…Antonia (Tonia) Arahova, BA, MS, MBA, PhD studied Classics, Business Administration and Economic Sciences. She has published several articles in cultural diplomacy, strategic management and library marketing. She is the Treasurer of the International Federation of Library Associations and Institutions.

The Board of Directors

Muddassar Ahmed, United Kingdom

IVLP (2009 & 2013)

…leads Unitas Communications, in addition, he is also the President of the Concordia forum, the Chairman of Unitas Risk, a Fellow at the German Marshall fund and on Advisory Boards at the Faiths Forum for London, Atlantic Council (US), ENAM, IAYP (US), ISTAC (Malaysia) and IRM (Pakistan).

Massimo Cugusi, Italy

IVLP (1994)

…is a senior – yet tech-savvy – international PR and business development specialist with 20+ years of professional experience and a proven track record of identifying, procuring, and maintaining long term and profitable relationships across the world.

Miso Dokmanovic, North Macedonia

Study of the US institute (2010)

…is a Full Professor at Ss. Cyril and Methodius University’s School of Law in Skopje, Republic of North Macedonia. He has attended a number of academic exchange programs and conferences in the US including: Princeton University, University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign, University of Florida, University of Texas etc.

Lothar Hofman, Austria

Fulbright (1991)

…is a lawyer in private practice, educated in Vienna and Chicago, admitted to the bar in Austria and New York. He lectures business and international legal matters at various university institutions, is a member of the disciplinary board of the Vienna bar, a bar examiner at the Appellate Court of Vienna and President of the Austrian Fulbright Alumni.

Dr. György Kovács, Hungary

Fulbright (2006)

…is an attorney at law experienced in international and European business law. He is a senior university lecturer in the areas of EU law and intellectual property law. He is also a member of the bar exam committee at the Ministry of Justice, Hungary, Board Member of the Hungarian Fulbright Association, and Supervisory Board Member of the Fulbright Foundation.

Vince McCarthy, Ireland

IVLP (2014)

…is is the Co-founder & CEO of The Festival of Curiosity in Dublin with over 50,000 attendees each year. Vincent is the President of the Ireland United States Alumni Association and is an IVLP alumnus.

Anna-Elisabeth Schmitz, Germany

Fulbright (2014)

…is a PhD fellow at Leuphana University in Lüneburg, where she researches political culture. Prior to that she studied History, English, Communication and International Relations with a concentration in conflict resolution.